Skip to Main Content

President & Leadership

In 1792 the Connecticut Legislature amended Yale’s 1701 charter to provide that the president and fellows of Yale College would be known as “The Corporation” and “shall have the government, care and management of the college.”

Today, we refer to The Corporation as the board of trustees to better reflect the volunteer commitment of the alumni who serve on it as well as to be consistent with terminology used in many other universities and non-profit organizations.