Group Photo, August 2013

Front Row (from left): Dave Hiller, Patricia Gordon, Nina Siragusa, Jeff Shaw, Scott Strobel, Rob Meehan, Brian Dunican, Cambria Alpha, and Dan Spakowicz. Back Row (from left): Caroline Reiss, Kaury Kucera, Giovanni Forcina, Meghan Griffin, Katie Smith, Michelle Legaspi, Karen Ruff, Linda Zhou, and Victor Kang. Not pictured: Madeline Cavanaugh.
 
 
Current Lab Members (updated August 2013)
 
  Professor Scott A. Strobel
Yale University
Department of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
266 Whitney Avenue, Room 309A J.W. Gibbs
New Haven, CT 06520-8114
Office Phone: 203-432-9772; Office Fax: 203-432-5767
Email: scott.strobel@yale.edu
 
Madeline   Madeline Y. Cavanaugh
Assistant to Professor Strobel & Undergraduate Registrar
Yale University-Department of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry
266 Whitney Avenue, Room 309C J.W. Gibbs
New Haven, CT 06520-8114
Tel: 203 432 5566
Email: madeline.cavanaugh@yale.edu
 
Katie Smith   Katie Smith
Associate Research Scientist
Ph.D., Yale University, 2011
Ph.D. Advisor: Professor Scott Strobel
Room 322 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-8949
Email: kathryn.smith@yale.edu
 
Patricia Gordon   Patricia Gordon
Lab Manager
Department of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry
Yale University
Room 321 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-9206
Email: patricia.gordon@yale.edu
     
Dave Hiller   Dave Hiller
NIH Postdoctoral Fellow, 2006
Ph.D., University of California Santa Barbara, 2005
Ph.D. Advisor: Professor John Perona
Current: Kinetic isotope effect on ribosomal peptide bond formation.
Room 322 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-8949
Email: david.hiller@yale.edu
 

Jeffrey Shaw

  Jeffrey Shaw
Postdoctoral Associate, 2009
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University, 2009
Ph.D. Advisor: Professor Rachel Green
Current: Investigation of biosynthetic pathways producing biofuels in endophytic fungi
Room 322 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-8949
Email:jeffrey.shaw@yale.edu
 
Kaury Kucera   Kaury Kucera
Lecturer & Postdoctoral Associate, 2010
Ph.D., Yale University, 2010
Ph.D. Advisor: Professor Yorgo Modis
Current: MB&B 230 Rainforest Expedition and Laboratory.
Room 312 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-436-4896
Email: Kaury.Kucera@yale.edu
 
Karen Ruff   Karen Ruff
Postdoctoral Associate, 2011
Ph.D., Harvard University, 2010
Ph.D. Advisor: Professor David Liu
Current: Understanding cooperativity in the glycine riboswitch.
Room 321 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-9206
Email: Karen.Ruff@yale.edu
 
Nina Lehr   Nina Siragusa
Postdoctoral Associate, 2012
Ph.D., University of Tuebingen, Germany, 2008
Ph.D advisor: Professor Ruediger Hampp
Current: Study of volatile organic compound production and its genetic basis by endophytic fungi to develop alternative biofuels.
Room 404 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-0656
Email: nina.lehr@yale.edu
 

Meghan Griffin

  Meghan Griffin
Ph.D. Student
Yale University
Department of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry
NSF Predoctoral Fellowship
Project: Mechanism of mRNA cleavage at the A-Site
Room 404 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-0656
Email: meghan.griffin@yale.edu
 
Daniel Spakowicz   Daniel Spakowicz
Ph.D. Student
Yale University
Department of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry
Project: Genetic basis of biofuel producing microbes.
Room 322 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-8949
Email: daniel.spakowicz@yale.edu
 

Cambria Alpha

  Cambria Alpha
Ph.D. Student
Yale University
Department of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry
Project:
Identifying the basis for fungal resistance to volatile organic compounds produced by Muscodor albus.
Room 321 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-9206
Email: cambria.alpha@
yale.edu
 
Brian Dunican   Brian Dunican
Ph.D. Student
Yale University
Department of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry
Project: Ribosome catalysis of peptide release.
Room 322 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-8949
Email: brian.dunican@yale.edu
 
Robert Meehan   Robert Meehan
Ph.D. Student
Yale University
Department of Chemistry
Project: Sequence-specific determinants of Gene Regulation by the c-di-GMP Riboswitch
Room 321 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-9206
Email: robert.meehan@yale.edu
 
Michelle Legaspi   Michelle Legaspi
Ph.D. Student
Yale University
Department of Chemistry
Project: Biodegradation of plastics by endophytic fungi
Room 322 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-8949
Email: michelle.legaspi@yale.edu
 
Caroline Reiss   Caroline Reiss
Ph.D. Student
Yale University
Department of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry
Project: Structure and biochemical characterization of riboswitches
Room 321 J.W.Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-432-9206
Email: caroline.reiss@yale.edu
 
Victor Kang   Victor Kang
BS Yale Undergraduate '14
Department of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry
Project: Fungal Power: Investigating the conversion of fatty acids into promising renewable research energy sources
Room 312 J.W. Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-436-4896
Email: victor.kang@yale.edu
 
Giovanni Forcina   Giovanni Forcina
BS Yale Undergraduate '14
Department Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry
Project: Probing for Biological and Chemical Diversity in Amazonian Endophytes
Room 312 J.W. Gibbs, Lab Phone: 203-436-4896
Email: giovanni.forcina@yale.edu