Yale University.Calendar.Directories.

Student Prizes

Awarded at the Yale School of Music Honors Dinner, May 5, 2013

The Woods Chandler Memorial Prize, for the best composition in a larger form written during the year. Awarded to Michael James Gilbertson.

The Phyllis Curtin Career Entry Prize, to assist in launching the careers of graduating students who demonstrate exceptional promise and talent as artists. Awarded to Vivien Sherab Shotwell.

The Broadus Erle Prize, to outstanding violinists in the School of Music. Awarded to Melanie Clapies, Corin Lee, and Cordelia Pei Zhi Paw.

The Eliot Fisk Prize, to an outstanding guitarist whose artistic achievement and dedication have contributed greatly to the department. Awarded to Marco Sartor.

Friedmann Thesis Prize, for a Master of Musical Arts thesis notable for its distinguished research, original perspective, in-depth engagement with its subject, and well-crafted presentation. Awarded to Marco Sartor and Matthew Tobin Welch.

The Rena Greenwald Memorial Prize, for the best piano composition written during the year. Awarded to Paul Thomas Kerekes.

Georgina Lucy Grosvenor Memorial Prize, to the violist in the graduating class whose performances while at Yale have exhibited the highest potential for success as a soloist or chamber musician. Awarded to Eleanor Kendra James.

The Charles Ives Prize, to an outstanding organ major. Awarded to Benton James Blasingame.

The John Day Jackson Prize, for an outstanding chamber music composition written for strings, with or without other instruments. Awarded to Polina Sergeevna Nazaykinskaya.

The David L. Kasdon Memorial Prize, to an outstanding singer in the School of Music. Awarded to Alexander Hahn.

The Frances E. Osborne Kellogg Memorial Prize, for the best composition written in a contrapuntal style. Awarded to James Cruickshank Rubino.

The Ezra Laderman Prize, for the best composition written for musical theater or voice. Awarded to Stephen Michael Feigenbaum.

The Charles S. Miller Prize, to a gifted pianist who has done outstanding work during the first year of study. Awarded to Sean Yow Chen.

The Philip Francis Nelson Prize, for a student whose musicianship is outstanding and who demonstrates curiosity, talent, and entrepreneurial spirit in the many dimensions of the music profession. Awarded to Lauren Ann Hunt.

The Thomas Daniel Nyfenger Prize, to a student who has demonstrated the highest standard of excellence in woodwind playing. Awarded to Ashley William Smith.

The Aldo Parisot Prize, to gifted cellists who show promise for concert careers. Awarded to Jennifer Jinhee Park and Bo Zhang.

The Elizabeth Parisot Prize, to outstanding pianists in the School of Music. Awarded to Melody Sean Roei Quah and Yevgeny Yontov.

The Presser Foundation Music Award, for an outstanding student, to advance his or her music education. Awarded to William John Gardner.

The Julia R. Sherman Prize, for excellence in organ playing. Awarded to Robert Patrick Christopher Bennesh.

The John Swallow Prize, to a graduating student for outstanding brass performance. Awarded to Hana Beloglavec.

The Yale School of Music Alumni Association Prize, for students who have not only excelled in their respective fields, but have also made an important contribution to the general life of the School. Awarded to Elizabeth Catherine Garrett, Jeonghwan Kim, Henry Thomas Kramer, Shawn Patrick Moore, Esther Jung-A Park, Adrianna Lynn Tam, John Taylor Ward, and Virginia Anne Warnken.

Return to Top

Awarded at Commencement Ceremonies, May 20, 2013

The Harriet Gibbs Fox Memorial Prize, to a student who has achieved the highest grade point average during his or her first year at the School of Music. Awarded to David George Leigh.

The Horatio Parker Memorial Prize, to students selected by the faculty as best fulfilling Dean Parker’s lofty musical ideals. Awarded to Eric Donald Dionne.

The Dean’s Prize, the School’s highest excellence award, given to a member of the graduating class who is selected by the dean in consultation with the faculty. Awarded to Daniel Jay Schlosberg.

Return to Top

Yale QuickLinks.