Yale University.Calendar.Directories.

Annual Awards


The Alice Kimball English Traveling Fellowships, the School’s oldest and largest endowed fellowships, established in 1893, are awarded annually for travel and study. In 2013 the following students were nominated for this honor: Graphic Design—Marina Mills Kitchen, Martha Kang McGill; Painting/Printmaking—Jose Alfafara DeVera, Emmy Hennings Thelander; Photography—Awol Erizku, Hannah Flora Hummel; Sculpture—Lauren Danielle Halsey.

The Robert Schoelkopf Memorial Traveling Fellowship is awarded annually to a painting/printmaking student for travel abroad between the first and second years of the program.

Return to Top

Scholarships and Prizes

The following prizes are awarded annually to enrolled students who have demonstrated exceptional achievement:

  • Richard Benson Prize for excellence in photography
  • Blair Dickinson Memorial Prize for the woman whose whole person demonstrates a developing consciousness, a personal vision, and a spirit of search
  • Gloucester Landscape Painting Prize for excellence in landscape painting
  • Al Held Prizes for Painting providing residencies at the American Academy in Rome
  • Ralph Mayer Prize for proficiency in materials and techniques
  • Fannie B. Pardee Prize for excellence in sculpture
  • Schickle-Collingwood Prize in recognition of exceptional development and progress by a first-year student
  • Carol Schlosberg Memorial Prize for excellence in painting
  • Bradbury Thompson Memorial Prize for consistent excellence in graphic design
  • Ethel Childe Walker Prize in recognition of exceptional artistic development by an undergraduate student majoring in art

Return to Top

Honorary Awards

The following honorary awards are made each year by the faculty and the dean to enrolled students, on the basis of professional promise:

  • Phelps Berdan Memorial Award for distinction in painting/printmaking
  • George R. Bunker Award in recognition of an outstanding student in painting/printmaking
  • Ward Cheney Memorial Award in recognition of outstanding achievement in performance and composition
  • Elizabeth Canfield Hicks Award for outstanding achievement in drawing or painting from nature
  • Rebecca Taylor Porter Award for distinction in sculpture
  • Ely Harwood Schless Award for excellence in painting
  • John Ferguson Weir Award in recognition of an outstanding student in the School
  • Susan H. Whedon Award in recognition of an outstanding student in sculpture
  • Helen Watson Winternitz Award in recognition of an outstanding student in painting/printmaking

Return to Top

Award Recipients, 2013

  • Alice Kimball English Traveling Fellowships, Jose Alfafara DeVera, Awol Erizku, Lauren Danielle Halsey, Emmy Hennings Thelander
  • Robert Schoelkopf Memorial Traveling Fellowship, Cathleen R. Mooses
Scholarships and prizes
  • Richard Benson Prize, Michael Barry Marcelle
  • Blair Dickinson Memorial Prize, Claudia Cecilia Kaatziza Cortínez
  • Gloucester Landscape Painting Prize, Jordan Margaret Casteel
  • Al Held Prizes, Haley Pearl Josephs, Devan Maurice Shimoyama
  • Ralph Mayer Prize, Daniel Eliiot Coleman Herwitt
  • Fannie B. Pardee Prize, Kayla Bree Gibbons
  • Schickle-Collingwood Prize, Nir Bitton
  • Carol Schlosberg Memorial Prize, Maeen Ameela Khan Hasan
  • Bradbury Thompson Memorial Prize, Eric Hu
  • Ethel Childe Walker Prize, Susanna Koetter
Honorary awards
  • Phelps Berdan Memorial Award, Stefan Thorsteinsson
  • George R. Bunker Award, Yoon Jung Choi
  • Ward Cheney Memorial Award, Elizabeth Rose Bick
  • Elizabeth Canfield Hicks Award, Kathryn Joan Gegenheimer
  • Rebecca Taylor Porter Award, Julia Drummond Novitch
  • Ely Harwood Schless Memorial Fund Award, Mark Thomas Gibson
  • John Ferguson Weir Award, Marzena Abrahamik
  • Susan H. Whedon Award, Karen Lucia Tepaz
  • Helen W. Winternitz Award, Tammy Vo Nguyen
  • Josef Albers Traveling Fellowship, Ana Maria Gomez Lopez
  • Theron Rockwell Field Prize, Thomas Pu Chung
  • Gamblin Paint Prize, Heidi Lee Hahn
  • Toby Devan Lewis Fellowship, Justin Phillip Schmitz
  • Tierney Foundation Fellowship, Justin Phillip Schmitz
Alumni awards

The following distinguished awards were made to School of Art alumni in 2013:

  • Aimia/AGO Photography Prize, Erin Shirreff (M.F.A. Sculpture 2005)
  • Anonymous Was a Woman Foundation Grants, Katy Grannan (M.F.A. Photography 1999), Sarah Oppenheimer (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 1999), Mickalene Thomas (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2002)
  • Bemidji State University Outstanding Alumni Award, Pamela Hovland (M.F.A. Graphic Design 1993)
  • Grand Rapids ArtPrize Juried Award, Kyle Staver (M.F.A. Painting 1987)
  • Rema Hort Mann Foundation Awards, Gaby Collins-Fernandez (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2012), Claudia Cortínez (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2013), Jennifer Packer (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2012)
  • Joan Mitchell Foundation Grant, Alicia Henry (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 1991)
  • New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship, Sharon Louden (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 1991)
  • Rome Prize, Anna Betbeze (M.F.A. Painting/Printmaking 2006)
  • South Florida Cultural Consortium Fellowship for Visual and Media Artists, Gideon Barnett (M.F.A. Photography 2011)

Return to Top

Yale QuickLinks.