Early Bird registration: until August 1, 2013, $120; thereafter: $140.  
Graduate Students, Adjunct Faculty, Independent Scholars: $90
Registration fee includes:
Welcome Reception, Beinecke Library (Thursday, Oct. 3)
Continental breakfast, and tea, coffee, and other refreshments throughout the conference
Historical Musical Instruments recital (Saturday, Oct. 5)
Conference Banquet (Saturday, Oct. 5)
Registration will close Thursday, September 19, 2013

To Register, click here.

All conference participants must be members of NEASECS. Annual dues of $15 may be paid here:

Rooms have been reserved at a special conference rate at the Courtyard by Marriott at Yale, The New Haven Hotel, and Premiere Hotel and Suites. The first two hotels, close to New Haven’s main shopping streets, are within easy walking distance of many restaurants and all conference venues. The more budget priced Premiere Hotel and Suites is a short distance from downtown, and offers free shuttle service. See Registration form.  




Among the calamities of war may be justly numbered the diminution
of the love of truth.

Idler #30, November 11, 1758





Robert Smirke (1752–1845), British, The Earl of Sandwich Refusing to Abandon His Ship During the Battle of Solebay, 1793, oil on canvas, Yale Center for British Art, Gift of R. W. Hutton and J. S. Cogswell.

The John H. O’Neill Bursaries
Up to five bursaries in the amount of $300 are available to graduate students to help defray the costs of travel.
(For further details, see: Applications should be made to the Program Chair, Gordon Turnbull, at, by July 1, 2013.

The Edna Steeves Prize
The Edna Steeves Prize of $300 is awarded to the best paper presented at the conference by a graduate student, in the judgment of an interdiscliplinary panel appointed by the NEASECS President. For further details, and a list of past winners, see:
Applicants should submit their papers by July 1, 2013 to the 2013 NEASECS President, Catherine Gallouët, at:, and copied to
with “Edna Steeves Prize” in the subject line., with “EDNA STEEVES PRIZE” in the subject line.