The MacMillan Center

download entry formWilliam J. Foltz Journalism Award

Rules and Guidelines | Judging | Award Winners

The Journalism Award is named for William J. Foltz, H. J. Heinz Professor Emeritus of African Studies and Political Science, and a former Director of The MacMillan Center. He has had a Guggenheim Fellowship, and has been a Senior Fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations and African-American Institute. His research concerns politics and international relations of Africa, political role of the military and ethnic conflict. His publications include From French West Africa to the Mali Federation, Yale University Press, 1965, Arms and the African (with Henry Bienen), Yale University Press, 1985, and “Reconstructing the Chadian State," in Collapsed States, Lynn Rienner Press, 1995.

Rules and Guidelines

The contest is open to Yale University students. It carries a cash award of $300.

Articles entered must relate to some aspect of international affairs, area studies, or foreign relations. The story must treat the subject with originality, be well-written, and help the audience gain greater knowledge and understanding of international issues.

Articles must have appeared in a Yale publication, or any other publication between January 2014 and April 2015, and may cover any lectures, conferences, or other activities held on the Yale campus, or events elsewhere.

Entries must be submitted to The MacMillan Center. Include one copy of the article to be considered, and a completed entry form. Only one entry per student. Entrants are responsible for the delivery of their submissions to the Center office to meet the deadline of May 8, 2015, at 4:00 p.m


A panel of 3 judges from the Center will review entries.

The winning award, in the opinion of the judges, shall demonstrate excellence, creativity, and journalistic merit in reporting a news event, feature, or human-interest story.

The judges will consider these main factors:

The winner will be notified by email and/or by phone no later than September 4, 2015. The winner’s name, photo, and article may be posted on the MacMillan Center's website. Entrants can check the Center website after October 1, 2015 for details on the winning entry.


Journalism Award Winners

2014 Winner
William Schreiber, "The Hidden Costs of a Russian Statelet in Ukraine"

2011 Winner
Gabriel Zucker, “El Salvador: Mining the Resistance”

2009 Winner
Emma Sokoloff-Rubin, "When Culture Trumps Law"

2007 Winner
Katharine Kendrick, "Activism 2.0"

2006 Winners
Michael J. Kavanagh, "Haiti Tries Elections, Again"
Zvika Krieger, "Kifaya: The Rise and Fall of Egypt's Secular Opposition"

2005 Winner
Sara Schlemm, "On Rocky Ground. Cautious Progress in Afghanistan"

2004 Winner
Haninah Levine, "Israel: Finding Asylum in a Land of Refuge"

2003 Winner
Linda Shi, "China's Muslim Province: Conflict and Resentment in Xinjiang"


Yale Image

The Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale