Faculty

Program in African Languages Faculty

Oluseye Adesola
Senior Lector, Yoruba
Email: oluseye.adesola@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/macmillan/african/dilsfaculty.html
Office Phone: 203-432-1166
Office: Luce Hall, 34 Hillhouse Avenue, Suite 309

Sandra Sanneh
Senior Lector 2, Zulu
Email: sandra.sanneh@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/macmillan/african/dilsfaculty.html
Office Phone: 203-432-1179
Office: Luce Hall, 34 Hillhouse Avenue, Suite 309

Kiarie Wa’Njogu
Senior Lector II, Swahili
Email: john.wanjogu@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/macmillan/african/dilsfaculty.html
Office Phone: 203-432-0110 Office: Luce Hall, 34 Hillhouse Avenue, Suite 309

Faculty Council Members

Teferi Abate Adem
Research Anthropologist, Human Relations Area Files
Email: teferi.abate@yale.edu
Bio: http://hraf.yale.edu/about/staff/teferi-abate-adem/

Serap Aksoy
Professor of Epidemiology (School of Public Health)
Email: serap.aksoy@yale.edu
Bio: http://publichealth.yale.edu/people/serap_aksoy-2.profile

Rob Bailis
Assistant Professor, Forestry and Environmental Studies
Email: robert.bailis@yale.edu
Bio:http://environment.yale.edu/profile/bailis

Katharine Baldwin
Assistant Professor, Political Science
Email: katharine.baldwin@yale.edu
Bio: http://politicalscience.yale.edu/people/kate-baldwin

Roberta (Lea) Brilmayer
Professor, Law School
Email: lea.brilmayer@yale.edu

Aaron Butts
Lector, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Email: aaron.butts@yale.edu
Bio: http://www.yale.edu/nelc/abutts.html

Michael Cappello
Director, Yale World Fellows Program
Professor of Pediatrics, Microbial Pathogenesis, and Public Health
Bio: http://medicine.yale.edu/ysph/people/michael_cappello.profile
Email: michael.cappello@yale.edu

Rodney Cohen
Director, Afro-American Cultural Center
Email: rodney.cohen@yale.edu

Ted Cohen
Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Email: theodore.cohen@yale.edu
Bio: http://medicine.yale.edu/intranet/facultybydept/theodore_cohen.profile

John Darnell
Professor, Egyptology
Email: john.darnell@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/nelc/jdarnell.html

Cheryl Doss
Senior Lecturer, African Studies and Economics
Email: cheryl.doss@yale.edu
Bio: www.Cheryldoss.net

Kate Ezra
Nolen Curator of Education and Academic Affairs
Yale University Art Gallery
Email: kate.ezra@yale.edu
Bio: http://artgallery.yale.edu/pages/info/res_yale.php

Owen Fiss
Professor, Law School
Email: owen.fiss@yale.edu
Bio: www.law.yale.edu/faculty/OFiss.htm

Anne-Marie Foltz
Lecturer, Epidemiology and Public Health
Email: anne-marie.foltz@yale.edu

Robert Harms
Professor, History
Email: robert.harms@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/history/faculty/harms.html

Andrew Hill
Professor, Chair, and Curator, Peabody Museum
Email: andrew.hill@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/anthropology/anthropology/Andrew_Hill.html

Kaveh Khoshnood
Associate Professor, Yale School of Public Health
Bio: http://publichealth.yale.edu/people/kaveh_khoshnood.profile
Email: kaveh.khoshnood@yale.edu

William Casey King
Director, YSPH Center for Analytical Sciences
CAS Projects Leadership Trainer
Email: casey.king@yale.edu
Bio: http://ghi.yale.edu/faculty/detail/casey_king

Frederick Lamp
Curator, African Art, Yale University Art Gallery; Lecturer in Theatre Studies
Email: frederick.lamp@yale.edu
Bio: artgallery.yale.edu/pages/collection/permanent/pc_african_over.php

Adria Lawrence
Assistant Professor, Political Science
Email: adria.lawrence@yale.edu
Bio: http://politicalscience.yale.edu/people/adria-lawrence

Louisa Lombard
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
Email: louisa.lombard@yale.edu
Bio: http://anthropology.yale.edu/people/louisa-lombard

Daniel Magaziner
Assistant Professor, History
Email: daniel.magaziner@yale.edu
Bio: http://www.yale.edu/history/faculty/magaziner.html

Roderick McIntosh
Professor, Anthropology Curator, Peabody Museum
Email: roderick.mcintosh@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/anthropology/anthropology/Roderick_McIntosh.html

Christopher Miller
Professor, French
Email: christopher.miller@yale.edu
Bio: http://french.yale.edu/miller

Matuku Ngame
Senior Lector, French
Email: matuku.ngame@yale.edu
Bio: http://french.yale.edu/ngame-0

Catherine Panter-Brick
Professor, Anthropology
Email: catherine.panter-brick@yale.edu
Bio: http://www.yale.edu/anthro/anthropology/Catherine_Panter-Brick.html

Sunil Parikh
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology and of Medicine, School of Public Health
email: sunil.parikh@yale.edu
bio: http://publichealth.yale.edu/people/sunil_parikh-1.profile

Curtis Patton
Professor Emeritus, Epidemiology and Public Health
Email: curtis.patton@yale.edu
Bio: http://medicine.yale.edu/ysph/people/curtis_patton.profile

Sarah Ryan
Lecturer and Empirical Research Librarian, Law School
Email: sarah.ryan@yale.edu
Bio: http://library.law.yale.edu/people/sarah-ryan

Lamin Sanneh
Professor, Divinity and History
Email: lamin.sanneh@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/divinity/faculty/Fac.LSanneh.shtml

Ian Shapiro
Professor, Political Science; Director, The MacMillan Center
Email: ian.shapiro@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/polisci/people/ishapiro.html

David Simon
Lecturer, Political Science
Email: david.simon@yale.edu
Bio: http://politicalscience.yale.edu/people/david-simon

Robert Farris Thompson
Professor, History of Art and African-American Studies Master, Timothy Dwight
Email: robert.thompson@yale.edu
Bio: http://arthistory.yale.edu/faculty/faculty/faculty_thompson.html

Christopher Udry
Chair, Council on African Studies
Professor, Economics
Email: christopher.udry@yale.edu
Bio: http://economics.yale.edu/people/christopher-udry

Michael Veal
Professor, Music
Email: michael.veal@yale.edu
Bio: http://www.yale.edu/yalemus/people/faculty.html#Veal

Immanuel Wallerstein
Senior Research Scientist and Professor Emeritus, Sociology
Email: immanuel.wallerstein@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/sociology/faculty/pages/wallerstein/

David Watts
Professor, Anthropology
Email: david.watts@yale.edu

Brian Wood
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
Email: brian.wood@yale.edu
Bio: http://www.yale.edu/anthro/anthropology/Brian_Wood.html

Elisabeth Wood
Professor, Political Science
Email: elisabeth.wood@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/polisci/people/ewood.html

Dorothy Woodson
African Collection Curator, Yale University Library
Email: dorothy.woodson@yale.edu

Jonathan Wyrtzen
Assistant Professor, Sociology and International Affairs
Email: jonathan.wyrtzen@yale.edu
Bio: www.yale.edu/sociology/faculty/pages/wyrtzen/

Council Affiliates

Larry Bowman
Professor, Political Science, University of Connecticut
Email: bowmanlarryw@hotmail.com
Bio: http://vm.uconn.edu/~bowman/

Harvey Feinberg
Professor of History, Southern Connecticut State University
Email: feinbergs@sbcglobal.net
Bio: www.southernct.edu/publications/facbib/F/feinberg.htm

Peter Mark
Professor of Art History, Wesleyan University
Email: pmark@wesleyan.edu
Bio: www.wesleyan.edu/afam/faculty.html