The Yale Intramural program provides an outlet for athletic competition for the Yale community. It is designed for maximum participation: one will find high school varsity athletes competing on the same team as PE dropouts. Teams are organized through the residential colleges, allowing any student to play any one of the 30 sports. While the goal of most athletes is to win the Tyng Cup, the award for excellence, the goals of the program stress the community of the residential colleges, the values of sportsmanship and fair play, and the lessons learned through competitive sports.


Yale Intramurals saw their beginning in the early 20th century. These early contests were designed for non-varsity athletes to compete in athletic competitions. The teams were mainly classes.

However, with the inauguration of the Residential College system in 1933, the Intramural program changed significantly. The teams changed from gradutation classes to residential colleges in order to benefit from the closeness of the college communities. Also introduced during this year was the Tyng Cup, a gift from alumni George Adee, Sheldon Rose, and Malcolm Aldrich. The Tyng has been awarded annually since 1933 to the resedential college that has won the greatest number of Tyng points at the end of the academic year.

A second trophy, the Davie Cup, has been awarded annually since 1987 to the Residential College with the best participation percentage over the academic year. This trophy is presented in the memory of Dean James S. Davie of Timothy Dwight College.

The tradtion of the Harkness Cup Games, or the Yale College-Harvard House Games, started in the fall of 1935. These games pit the champions of the two intramural programs against one another, usually the day before The Game. The winner of the most games is awarded the Harkness Cup Trophy, which incidentally was lost in the mid-1970s.


The Yale Intramural program is managed by the Intramural Director, who is currently Tom Migdalski. The Director holds all power within the program and, among other duties,hires supervisors and referees, processes weekly payroll, decides on new sports and eligibility rules with the IM Secretaries, purchases equpiment, and oversees the execution of the program.

The director is assisted by the Head Intramural Secretary, currently Kieran Dahl. The Head Secretary is tasked with being the Intramural statistician, game scheduler and webmaster along with answering and deciding upon all questions and protests arising from Intramural contests.

On the field, the Intramural Program is represented by a group called the IM Supervisors. These students make sure that all games are run smoothly and answer to on-field problems such as rule queries, equipment problems, and injuries. Working underneath the Supervisors are the Intramural Referees. Referees hold the on-field officiating power and work to make sure that the individual games run smoothly. They also record all necessary information pertaining to the game and report scores to the Head IM Secretary/Webmaster.

The main functional unit of the Yale Intramural program is the residential college. Each of the 12 colleges fields a team for all 30 current sports. The Intramural Secretaries run each college's IM program. The main goal of the secretaries is to make sure that students within their college are participating in IM sports. In order to reach this goal, the secretaries name captains, organize IM study breaks, run sign-ups at the beginning of each season, and act as the liaison between the IM office and the residential college. Secretaries also attend a bi-weekly program meeting to discuss IM issues, which is chaired by the Head IM Secretary.

The Tyng Cup:

Awarded anually since 1933, the Tyng Cup is the most coveted of all Intramural Trophies. Each Intramural contest played throughout the year is weighted with a number of Tyng Cup points equal to the amount of atheletes playing at one time. Hence, soccer games are worth 11 Tyng points and basketball games are worth 5. If a college wins a game, they are awarded that number of Tyng Cup Points. Timothy Dwight has won the Tyng Cup the most number of times with 12, and Trumbull the least with a single win. The current total of Tyng Points for each college is displayed at the Intramural website.


All currently enrolled undergraduate students of Yale College are eligibile for Intramural Sports, subject to the following restrictions:

  1. Current varsity athletes, or club athletes in the case where there is no varsity team, are ineligible for similar IM sports
  2. Any student who is a past or present Olympic, professional, or world ranked ameteur is ineligible for similar sports
  3. A student signed into one game is ineligible to play in any other game at the same time
  4. A student who has not played in any regular season game is ineligible to play in the post-season for that sport
  5. There are special eligibility rules for the different levels of Basketball

Aside from undergraduate students, the following are elegibile to participate in Intramruals, so long as they are eligible under the undergraduate requirements:

  1. The residential Masters, Deans, their spouses and children living in the college
  2. Fellows and Associate Fellows
  3. One normally non-eligible male and female per season
    1. Petitions for eligibility must be made before the athlete plays in a game

Intramural Secretaries may request a eligibility panel from the Intramural Office to request eibibility for a player who is ineligible in extraordinary circumstances.

Any captain or Intramural Secretary may protest the eligibilty of an opposing player by filing a protest with the Head Intramural Secretary. If the opposing player is found to be inelegible, the offending team will be disqualified in all games in which the ineligible player has played.