Yale University.
Calendar. Directories.
EVST

Faculty in the Environmental Studies Program

  • Mark Ashton, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, mark.ashton@yale.edu: silviculture, natural forest regeneration, agroforestry, tropical and temperate forests
  • Robert Bailis, Yale School of Forestery & Environmental Studies, robert.bailis@yale.edu: resource access, poverty and links between public health, social welfare and environmental change, energy, climate change and the developing world
  • Michelle Bell, Yale Department of Chemical Engineering, Yale School of Public Health and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, michelle.bell@yale.edu: air pollution and human health by integrating several disciplines, such as environmental engineering and epidemiology
  • Gaboury Benoit, Yale Department of Environmental Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, gaboury.benoit@yale.edu: behavior, transport and fate of chemicals in natural waters, soils, sediments and biota
  • Ruth Blake, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, ruth.blake@yale.edu: environmental geomicrobiology
  • Gary W. Brudvig, Yale Departments of Chemistry and Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, gary.brudvig@yale.edu: green chemistry, biophysical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry
  • Benjamin Cashore, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, benjamin.cashore@yale.edu: environmental and social certification programs, fisheries depeletion, mining destruction, environmental and social deterioration associated with global coffee production, tourism impacts on ecologically sensitive areas and sweat shop labor practices
  • Carol Carpenter, Yale Department of Anthropology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, carol.carpenter@yale.edu: the relationship between human societies and the environment, sustainable development, agriculture and natural resources
  • Marian Chertow, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, marian.chertow@yale.edu: industrial ecology, business and environmental issues, waste management, environmental technology innovation
  • Amity Doolittle, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, amity.doolittle@yale.edu: the ways society and state definine, negotiate, and contest control and access to natural resources, environmental anthropology, political ecology
  • Michael Dove, Yale Department of Anthropology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, michael.dove@yale.edu: sustainable development and resource use, biodiversity and human society, resource-based linkages of local communities to global systems, the study of developmental and environmental institutions, discourses and movements, the sociology of resource-related societies
  • Menachem Elimelech, Yale Departments of Chemical Engineering and Environmental Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, menachem.elimelech@yale.edu: physicochemical and biophysical processes in engineered and natural environmental systems, water, sanitation, and public health in developing countries
  • Alex Felson, Yale School of Architecture and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, alexander.felson@yale.edu: landscape architecture and urban ecology, integrating knowledge of ecological processes with the multifaceted socio-economic, political and infrastructural factors of the city
  • Durland Fish, Yale School of Medicine, Yale School of Public Health, and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, durland.fish@yale.edu: ecology and prevention of vector-borne infectious diseases
  • Thomas Graedel, Yale Departments of Chemical Engineering and Geology & Geophysics and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, thomas.graedel@yale.edu: designing processes and tools to manufacture products in such a way as to minimize and optimize their environmental interactions
  • John Grim, Yale Divinity School and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, john.grim@yale.edu: religions and ecology, cosmology, climate change
  • Karen H├ębert, Yale Department of Anthropology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, karen.hebert@yale.edu: anthropology, fisheries, agro-food systems, sustainable livelihoods, sociocultural theory of environment and economy
  • Leo Hickey, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, leo.hickey@yale.edu: plant phylogeny, evolution and paleoecology of the flowering plants, paleoclimate and stratigraphy
  • Daniel Kevles, Yale Departments of American Studies, History of Science, History of Medicine and History and Yale Law School, daniel.kevles@yale.edu: the history of modern science and technology, genetics, physics, science and technology in America, innovation and intellectual property in living organisms, science and national security, the US in the 1970s
  • Walter Jetz, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, walter.jetz@yale.edu: biogeography, community ecology, landscape ecology, macroecology, global change, evolution, biodiversity informatics and conservation
  • Xuihui Lee, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, xuihui.lee@yale.edu: meteorology, air quality, remote sensing, carbon sequestration
  • Robert Mendelsohn, Yale Department of Economics, Yale School of Management, and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, robert.mendelsohn@yale.edu: air pollution damages, green house gases, climate change, valuation of ecosystems
  • William Mitch, Yale Departments of Chemical Engineering and Environmental Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, william.mitch@yale.edu: public health and emerging carcinogens, climate change and oceanography, sustainability and persistent organic pollutants, engineering for sustainable wastewater recycling
  • Mark Pagani, Yale Department of Geology & Geophysics, mark.pagani@yale.edu: biogeochemistry, paleoceanography and paleoclimatology, climate change during the Cenozoic era
  • Peter Perdue, Yale Department of History, peter.perdue@yale.edu: modern Chinese and Japanese social and economic history, history of frontiers, agricultural development and environmental history
  • Douglas Rae, Yale Department of Political Science and Yale School of Management, douglas.rae@yale.edu: cities in capitalist settings, urbanism, political ideas, business and economic history, competitive strategy
  • David Post, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, david.post@yale.edu: community and ecosystem ecology, food-web structure in aquatic systems, environmental change, landscape linkages, eco-evolutionary dynamics
  • Paul Sabin, Yale Department of History, paul.sabin@yale.edu: environmental history, energy politics, natural resource development in the Western US
  • James E. Saiers, Yale Department of Chemical Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, james.saiers@yale.edu: hydrology, geochemistry, chemical engineering, circulation of water and the movementof waterborne chemicals in surface and subsurface environments
  • Oswald Schmitz, Yale Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, oswald.schmitz@yale.edu: terrestrial food-webs, natural system resilience, how plant-herbivore interactions are mediated by carnivores and soil nutrient levels
  • David Skelly, Yale Department of Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, david.skelly@yale.edu: ecology and dynamics and fate of animal populations and communities around two main themes- emerging diseases and population responses to dynamic landscapes
  • Ronald B. Smith, Yale Departments of Geology & Geophysics and Mechanical Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, ronald.smith@yale.edu: atmospheric dynamics and physics, regional climate, remote sensing
  • John Wargo, Yale Department of Political Science and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, john.wargo@yale.edu: environment and public health, children's exposure to pollutants
  • Harvey Weiss, Yale Departments of Near Eastern Languages and Anthropology, harvey.weiss@yale.edu: Mesopotamia, early agriculture, cities and empires, paleoclimatology and environmental change
  • Robert Wyman, Yale Department of Molecular, Cellula & Developmental Biology, robert.wyman@yale.edu: intercellular communication, molecular signaling, population growth
  • Julie Zimmerman, Yale Department of Chemical Engineering and Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies, julie.zimmerman@yale.edu: green engineering, environmentally benign design and manufacturing, the fate and impacts of anthropogenic compounds in the environment, water treatment technology in the developing world

 

EVST Home Page