Last call for Alumni Award nominations

The deadline for 2011 alumni award nominations is just around the corner, Jan. 15, and all alumni are welcome to submit names of persons they believe should be honored.

ChoiThere are four award categories:  Congregational Ministry, Theological Education, Peace and Justice, and Lux et Veritas.  Honorees in 2010 were, respectively, Lillian F. Daniel ’93 M.Div., Barbara K. Lundblad ’79 M.Div., Nancy Jo Kemper ’67 B.D., and Nai-Wang Kwok ’66 B.D.

Award winners are formally recognized during ceremonies held at Convocation and Reunions, which will take place this year Oct. 10-12.

Alumni Board awards committee chair Ki Joo “K.C.” Choi '98 M.Div., assistant professor in the Department of Religion at Seton Hall University, said, “Yale Divinity School has many alumni who are engaged in service to church and world in ways that are creative, transformative, and exemplary.  When honored, these individuals serve as an inspiration to others in pursuit of their own missions, and it is our hope that the slate of nominees reflects the full breadth and depth of the remarkable life experiences of our 8,000-plus living alums.  Please help us by sending in your nominations by the Jan. 15 deadline.”

Printable nomination forms, and online submissions, can be accessed by clicking here.

Following are descriptions of the four award categories:

Distinction in Congregational Ministry

At the heart of YDS is the commitment to train women and men for the lay and ordained ministries of the Christian church. The award for Distinction in Congregational Ministry is awarded to a lay or ordained individual who has shown exceptional pastoral competence in the work of developing the ministry and mission of local congregations.

Distinction in Theological Education

One of the finest traditions of YDS is the excellence of its faculty and their world-class scholarship. Thus, the recipient of the award in Theological Education will be a scholar of distinction whose research and teaching reflects the best of traditions of YDS.

William Sloane Coffin '56 Award for Peace and Justice
The Coffin award is given in honor of the life and ministry of William Sloane Coffin, former Chaplain to the University and one of the 20th century's most significant religious leaders. The recipient of the Coffin award will be someone who shares Coffin's passionate and prophetic witness, a courageous devotion to the dignity and worth of all persons, and who has made a notable contribution to the work of peace and reconciliation.

Lux et Veritas

The Lux et Veritas award is awarded to someone who has demonstrated excellence and distinction in applying the compassion of Christ to the diverse needs of the human condition through the wider church, institutional ministries, ecumenical organizations, not-for-profit organizations, government, or industry.

Posted: 01/03/2011

Revised: 01/04/2011