Yale University Department of Anthropology

  Department of Anthropologyredirect.html
    Yale Universityhttp://www.yale.edu
Yale University's Department of Anthropology was officially
founded in 1937 and traces its origins of research and teaching to work done within the Peabody Museum of Natural History (1866) and the Institute of Human Relations (1928).  The Department is home to over 30 faculty and nearly 120 graduate students and undergraduate majors.

The main Anthropology building is 10 Sachem Street (right), with other faculty in 51 Hillhouse Avenue (below) and the Environmental Science Center, 21 Sachem Street (bottom right)

Today, the Department consists of three subdisciplines: Archaeology, Biological Anthropology, and Sociocultural Anthropology, with faculty having expertise in the archaeology of various regions and time periods, environmental anthropology, film, linguistic anthropology, medical anthropology and global health, molecular anthropology, paleontology, primatology, the anthropology of race and modernity, reproductive ecology, sex and gender, and transnational/urban anthropology, just to name a few areas.  Please see faculty pages for additional information.


On street metered parking is available in front of the Anthropology Department and around campus.  After 4 p.m., visitors may park in most Yale parking lots.  Please visit Yale Parking and Transit for more info.


For information on traveling to the Yale University Department of Anthropology, please visit the Yale Travel Services webpage for visitors.


The US Postal mailing address of all faculty and staff, except where noted on their personal webpage, is:

  1. Yale University

  2. Department of Anthropology

  3. P.O. Box 208277

  4. New Haven, CT 06520-8277

Courier (FedEx, UPS, etc.)

  1. Yale University

  2. Department of Anthropology

  3. 10 Sachem Street

  4. New Haven, CT 06511-3707

Main office phone

  1. 203.432.3700

Main office Fax

  1. 203.432.3669

Email: anthropology@yale.edu

Regular Staffed Department Business Hours

  1. Academic Year

  2. Monday-Friday 8:30 am - 5:30 pm

  3. Summer

  4. Monday-Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm