Welcome to the Yale AIDS Network


    YAN Meetings! If you are interested in becoming involved in one of YAN's campaings (university IP policies, free trade, or prisoner's HIV/AIDS care), please contact samantha.chaifetz@yale.edu for more information. We will be holding regularly scheduled meetings 2x monthly during the spring semester.


The Yale AIDS Network (YAN) brings together students and faculty from all over the university who are committed to creating a coordinated response to the global HIV/AIDS pandemic at the local, national and international level through advocacy, political activism and education.

Over the past three years, YAN has been primarily focused on the "access issue": facilitating access to essential medical treatment for AIDS and other critical conditions in the developing world. Today, we are actively engaged in promoting changes in the technology transfer policies of research universities to ensure that the benefits of university discoveries are shared around the world.


The Yale AIDS Network was formed in spring 2001, after student and faculty pressure prompted Yale to essentially release its patent on the antiretroviral drug d4T in South Africa.

Significant campus activism accompanied a request from the Nobel Prize-winning humanitarian group, Doctors Without Borders, for Yale’s permission to use a generic equivalent of d4T in South African. Ultimately, Yale negotiated with Bristol-Myers Squibb, the pharmaceutical company to whom Yale had exclusively licensed the drug, to make the first patent concession on an AIDS drug. This paved the way for the use of generic d4T in South Africa, sold at only 1/34th the cost of the patented version.

The Yale AIDS Network was then formed to create a more permanent structure for bringing together interested members of the Yale University community to continue to pursue related goals through policy-oriented advocacy, political activism and education. Much of YAN's success can be attributed to its interdisciplinary structure – facilitating the sharing of expertise and resources.

2003-2004 Steering Committee

Samantha Chaifetz
Law School

Sanjay Basu, Ramnath Subbaraman
Medical School

Andrew Dervan, Henri Benaim

Achal Prabhala
School of Management

Harsha Thirumurthy (on leave)
Graduate School, Economics

David Scales
Medical School / Graduate School