Agrarian Studies Conference


Call for Abstracts/Papers

Food Sovereignty: A Critical Dialogue
September 14–15, 2013
Yale University

Deadline: June 20, 2013

We are inviting abstracts/papers around the broad topic of “food sovereignty” for the upcoming conference Food Sovereignty: A Critical Dialogue. We understand the concept broadly as the right of peoples to democratically control or determine the shape of their food system, and to produce sufficient and healthy food in culturally appropriate and ecologically sustainable ways in and near their territory. As such it spans issues like food politics, agroecology, land reform, bio-fuels, genetically modified organisms (GMOs), the patenting of life forms, labor migration, the feeding of volatile cities, urban gardening, ecological sustainability, and subsistence rights, among others. We are interested in varied papers including theoretical, empirical, methodological, state-of-the-art review, and commentary papers by established or early career researchers. We are especially interested in papers that are skeptical and/or critical of the issue, which raise important and difficult questions. Embracing a plenary of views, the conference aims to provide a platform for a critical but constructive dialogue.

Interested participants should submit a CV and an abstract with project title of no more than 500 words to the following email address:

by June 15th, 2013. If you have a draft paper, we encourage you to submit the full paper instead. Decisions will be rendered by July 1st. Some papers presented at the conference will be considered for publication in the Journal of Peasant Studies (JPS).

Unfortunately, the modest funds available for the conference are not able to provide ALL participants with travel and accommodation support. Breakfast and lunch, however, will be provided.

Please feel free to contact us at the above email address with any questions.

Organizing Committee:

Saturnino (“Jun”) M. Borras Jr., Todd Holmes, James C. Scott, and Kalyanakrishnan (“Shivi”) Sivaramakrishnan

Conference Secretariat:

Todd Holmes, Zoe VanGelder, Andrés Vargas Castillo, Annie Shattuck, Christina Schiavoni, and Andrew Offenburger