Accreditation 2009

Accreditation 2009

Frequently Asked Questions

What is accreditation?
Accreditation is an activity that both assures quality and fosters improvement of an institution through a process of self evaluation and peer review. In contrast to other countries where quality assurance frequently is conducted by large governmental ministries, the U.S. process is independent and peer–based except that accreditation by a government–approved agency is required to obtain federal financial aid.

What is regional accreditation?
The U.S. has six regional accreditation agencies that accredit all institutions of higher education in their areas. For the New England states and designated overseas areas, the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (CIHE) of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC) undertakes the evaluation of the region’s colleges and universities. This process includes a self–study by the institution, followed by an on–site visit by a visiting team of peer educators, and a subsequent review and decision by the CIHE commission. To learn more about accreditation and the New England Association of Schools and Colleges Commission on Institutions of Higher Education please visit the NEASC CIHE website.

How is Yale evaluated by NEASC?
NEASC evaluates institutions of higher education against eleven standards: Mission and Purposes, Planning and Evaluation, Organization and Governance, the Academic Program, Faculty, Students, Library and Other Information Resources, Physical and Technological Resources, Financial Resources, Public Disclosure, and Integrity. The standards are written to afford institutions the opportunity to be creative, innovative, and collaborative in approaching self–study and engaging in self–examination for purposes of institutional improvement. Although each of the eleven standards will be examined thoroughly, the commission’s judgments about accreditation are made about the institution as a whole.

When does reaccreditation take place?
Yale University has been accredited continuously by NEASC since 1929 and is formally evaluated once every ten years with less comprehensive five–year reports in between. To view reports from 1999 to date, visit the 1999 and 2009 Yale NEASC Reaccreditation websites and the 2004 Yale NEASC Fifth–Year Report website.

Who participates in Yale’s NEASC reaccreditation process?
Reaccreditation is a highly participatory process requiring the work of many and the input of all.

To coordinate the 1999 and 2009 Yale NEASC reaccreditation projects, a steering committee and eleven standards committees were designated to collect information and draft Yale’s responses to the standards of accreditation. Faculty, students, staff, and the broader Yale community are invited to provide feedback and ideas.

What is specialized accreditation?
In addition to the six university–wide regional accreditation associations, there are many other national accreditors for faith–based and career–oriented schools plus other specialized and professional accreditors. In addition to Yale’s NEASC accreditation, most individual Yale schools and some programs are accredited by over 25 nationally recognized, specialized accrediting agencies.

Yale University